Free Book Friday: Wolf Hall

I like to support independent booksellers when I travel. For the past few years I’ve been fortunate to spend a good deal of time at my friend’s inn up in Woodstock, VT, and there are two great little book shops that I frequent right off the village green, Shiretown Books and the Yankee Bookshop. I try to buy something each time I’m there, which is where I picked up a copy of Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall (2009, Book One of her Thomas Cromwell Trilogy).

The book is a remarkable accomplishment. Mantel won the 2009 Man Booker Prize for it, and then turned around three years later and won the Man Booker again for the sequel, Bring Up the Bodies. She’s only the third author to ever win the Man Booker twice. And while I did not love this book (Tudor fatigue, perhaps?), the writing; the writing! It deserves every accolade it has received.

And now you can read it, too. It’s my second book giveaway, and the same thing goes – give me your stories, I’ll give you my book. Leave a comment and tell me something about you, anything; as I said last time, make me laugh/cry/snort/smile/say awww/etc. Why do you want to read Wolf Hall? I’ll pick one next Wednesday, and if I pick yours then in a private message I will get your mailing address* and will send you my copy of Wolf Hall, no strings attached. It’s the Picador paperback edition, in good condition. I look forward to your comments!

*For now I’m only mailing in the United States.

Recently finished Barbara Shapiro’s The Art Forger; Dava Sobel’s Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time; Kirk Read’s How I Learned to Snap: A Small Town Coming-Out and Coming-of-Age Story; Chris Cleave’s Gold; and Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall. Gave up on Marcus Zusak’s The Book Thief.

This entry was posted in Books, Giveaways and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free Book Friday: Wolf Hall

    • randasfans says:

      Oh Martha. It’s a trick. It only looks that way because I didn’t update for a month or more. And anyway, you wouldn’t think I read too much if you were a better mother!

Leave a Reply

