Standing Desk: Bend and Snap

I’ve been standing for more than a week, and have received lots of feedback and encouragement. Several people have suggested that I will want to purchase some kind of gel mat to stand on, so that’s on my list.

The gigantic new monitor was finally installed.

IMG_2670I was worried that I was going to have to purchase those acupressure bracelets like people wear on cruise ships in order to ward off motion sickness, but things seem to be fine. On a totally unrelated note, the moment it was installed I minimized the screen and remarked to a colleague something along the lines of, when will I ever need to see documents side by side? Turns out the answer to that question was, in about two hours. I love the width; it’s like the perfect gift, something wonderful that I didn’t even know I wanted.

Meanwhile, let’s take a closer look at what the Speedy Stand Up Desk® has to say about itself. Highlights from the Congratulatory Note (otherwise known as Instructions) include:

  • as I mentioned previously, “less commitment than a traditional standing desk.” I’m not sure what a “traditional” standing desk is, but I like that I can easily return to sitting if I want to. The option is there, but as of yet I haven’t needed it.
  • purported benefits include increased circulation, increased energy, increased productivity, work smarter, less pain, strengthen your core. The verdict on all of the above is still out.
  • my favorite: Limit interruptions! (the exclamation point is mine) “Co-workers may do a double-take at first when they see you standing up. Often they stop to chat, but since you are standing, they will hesitate to sit down. This will shorten those pesky interruptions.” I don’t mind it when co-workers stop by, but this one made me laugh out loud, wondering about the working conditions (and colleagues) of the person who wrote it.

Observations from week two:

1. I’m really enjoying my standing desk.

2. Still tweaking: screen angle and height, mouse position and height, trying to focus on my posture and not favoring one leg over the other/standing at an awkward tilt.

3. Everyone keeps talking about increased energy. I feel good when I’m standing, but so far the moment I sit down (for a meeting, on the bus) I immediately begin yawning and, as was the case last week on the D2, fall asleep. This is the adjustment period I suppose, but I’m waiting for the amazing surge of energy.

4. Re: productivity, when I want to sit down it’s not in front of a computer, so instead of reading Gawker or looking at real estate, since I’m not in front of a screen I can concentrate on other things I need to read or write. That’s been great.

5. I need to stretch more. My lower back and knees get tight from all the standing. Luckily I’m already up, so I just need to take a few steps and then swan dive forward. Thankfully, there are clear instructions for that!

Tweet

Recently finished listening to Laurie R. King’s The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and reading The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith.

This entry was posted in Commentary, Products and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Standing Desk: Bend and Snap

  1. Jenn says:

    Ditto on the bigger monitor- I was annoyed by mine when I got it for about ten minutes. Then I realized all the stuff I could do! Two documents at once? Amazing!

  2. randasfans says:

    Yes, JS – who knew?! Luddites of the world unite!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I look forward to reading more about this! There are a few standing desks at my library, but I’m not sure I’m ready to take the plunge. But the enormous monitor, oh my god. I felt the same resistance to a dual monitor setup for about half a day, and then loved it, and now greatly mourn its absence in my single monitor universe.

    • randasfans says:

      E! I will definitely update. I’m still adjusting, but the most entertaining result of all of this is the reaction of students and colleagues. You can imagine. You might think I’d come to work dressed like Torvill and Dean!

      • Elizabeth says:

        That’s one of the reasons I’m holding back – my office faces into a public area. Also my office isn’t big enough to accommodate multiple desks, so it might make meetings difficult. But imma think on it further.

      • randasfans says:

        Let me know what you come up with. The option I chose sits on top of my existing desk (so doesn’t take up any extra space) and can easily revert back – for meetings, if I get tired, just cuz.

  4. Pingback: Standing Desk: A Month of Standing | Randa's Fans

Leave a Reply

