Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus

This week’s photo challenge is all about focus – the timing seemed perfect, as I clearly have not been able to focus on this blog for the past month.

When thinking about focus and photography, I’m such an amateur that I first had to figure out what was a deliberate experiment with focus and what was simply blurry!

Normally I am pretty decisive when it comes to these photo challenge posts – there may be several photographs that fit the theme, but I can usually determine pretty quickly which I like best and then select just one. This week it’s proving more difficult – so I’ve decided to post several.

My first instinct was to go with this photograph taken outside Abbey Road Studios in London.

DSCN4468

Abbey Road Studios

But then, and maybe here is the flaw in the plan, I continued looking further back in my iPhoto catalog, and found others that I really loved. Like this one, taken in Jacques Rémus’ studio in Paris.

DSCN4164

Here are two more from Paris, both taken from inside my colleague’s apartment looking out over the Seine – one focused on our evening meal and the other one on the window architecture.

DSCN3844

DSCN3840

The only one for which I have a greater depth of field is this up close and personal examination of barbed wire in a dandelion field in Mississippi that I snapped back in May.

DSCN3639

There’s nothing special about the long shot, but I like the focused, framed shot above.

DSCN3637

Lastly, even though I’ve posted it before, I can’t help but adore this shot from President Obama’s second inauguration back in January.

DSCN3472

Do you have a favorite?

Finished reading Alain de Botton’s The Art of Travel; Arthur Conan Doyle’s A Study in Scarlet; Josh Kilmer-Purcell’s The Bucolic Plague; Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins; and I finally finished Gore Vidal’s Myra Breckinridge.

Tweet

This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers in Focus | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Stephanie says:

    I think there’s something very special about the long shot, and the blurring of flora and greens.

    • randasfans says:

      Thanks, Stephanie, and you’re right. I should give the landscape more credit – after all, there was something wonderful about it that captured my imagination in the first place.

  3. Pingback: Photo Project ’52 Bolivian Sundays’ [week 34, 'Focus']. | 3rdculturechildren

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus – Discovering Ranch Life ~ Photography

  5. mithriluna says:

    Wonderful images! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Lovely collection of photos for this challenge. Love the Dandelion field, yellow flowers are so cheerful according to me!

  7. Keri says:

    The studio! *love*

    Didn’t we start Myra back at 57 Simpson?

  8. Pingback: WordPress Photo Challenge: Focus (2) | Bastet and Sekhmet

Leave a Reply

