Huzzah and Welcome!

So in the world of off [the] beat[en path] events, I’m not sure where the Maryland Renaissance Festival ranks. Had it been a realistic option, I might rather have gone to this instead, but since RenFest was right around the corner, that’s where we went last Sunday.

EmJulesFade

As soon as we arrived, I consulted the map to find our first stop.

This is some serious stuff – no traveling fairground, and I misunderstood. I’ve heard about RenFest since I moved down here five years ago, but had never been. I mistakenly thought that it was a more ephemeral sort of thing. Not so! In the car on the way I was disabused of the idea that it lasts only one weekend (over Labor Day) – this year it’s open from late August until late October, and the set up out there is, well, permanent. It’s a whole Sherwood Forest Complex.

IMG_1801

IMG_1803

IMG_1804

IMG_1809

IMG_1818

IMG_1825

IMG_1845

I’ve never been much of a role player, but Jules did ask me, “What would you have done if you’d shown up at our place to pick us up and I’d been totally decked out in Renaissance gear – you know, really gotten into it?” And my answer was simple: instantaneously upon arrival I would have rented a costume. Though something tells me these aren’t rentals:

IMG_1793

IMG_1794

IMG_1795

IMG_1805

IMG_1807

IMG_1812

IMG_1815

IMG_1817

IMG_1820

IMG_1844

At the Renaissance Festival I found myself delighted and inspired by the following:

  • The Becostumed (see above)
  • the idea of dangling a flagon from my belt loop

  • this owl

  • meats on sticks

IMG_1798

IMG_1823

  • real live [fake] jousting

IMG_1835

IMG_1837

IMG_1840

IMG_1841

IMG_1842

IMG_1827

This entry was posted in Events, Friends and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Huzzah and Welcome!

  1. Jan says:

    HA! (Now I know someone who actually went to “RenFest”. Yikes.) Rent a ye ole costume? Rent? Nay! Fiddlesticks! I see you as the Village Rogue: http://bit.ly/QzHp9y

Leave a Reply

