New Header: Book Arts

There [at the Boston Athenaeum], I not only turned up the three elegantly printed volumes on a remote shelf in a basement storeroom, but found them in remarkably pristine condition, with pages that had remained uncut, and presumably unread, after all this time. As I was signing the books out at the front desk … I confirmed by the blank cards tucked inside the rear pastedowns my assumption that they were, in fact, leaving the library for the first time. “Eighty-one years,” I said aloud, shaking my head with amused gratification. “You wonder who they bought these books for anyway.” James P. Feeney, the silver-haired circulation librarian who was checking me out, paused momentarily and fastened his unblinking eyes on mine. “We got them for you.”
— Nicholas Basbanes, Patience & Fortitude

The new header is cropped from a photo I took of a wonderful, quirky metal library sculpture out in Sonoma.

This entry was posted in art, headers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

