Cephalipods

No, not Cephalopods.

From this year’s Artomatic — if you’re in the DC area, it’s a must see before June 23.

Recently finished Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and A.J. Jacobs’ The Year of Living Biblically. 

This entry was posted in Around town, art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cephalipods

  1. Kim says:

    Would love to hear your thoughts of the Jacobs book!

    • randasfans says:

      It took me *years* to read it, not because I didn’t enjoy it but because I kept getting sidetracked. I like where he ended up, as a “reverent agnostic.” It was always sort of obvious that’s how it would end, but I still appreciated how he got there. And I’m a bigger fan of adjectives than nouns. I also appreciated his reflections on gratitude. I was impressed with his level of engagement, and in some ways it was a reminder about the beauty that can be found in both ritual and tradition. What did you think?

  2. Dan says:

    I hope you do a post on Into Thin Air. That book is one of my top 5 favorite books and even if you didn’t like it, I love hearing other people’s reactions to that book.

    • randasfans says:

      I don’t have any plans for a post about ITA, but I did love it. Even though there’s been similar news every spring for who knows how long, for some reason this year’s news of the deaths on Everest really caught my attention. I became slightly obsessed. ITA was the catalyst that drove me to read lots of other articles online and to watch all three seasons of Everest: Beyond the Limit (streaming on Netflix) as well as the NOVA documentary Everest: The Death Zone, David Breashears’ IMAX movie that they were filming in ’96 (also streaming, though really average imho), and the National Geographic doc Return to Everest/Surviving Everest. Of them all, Krakauer’s book was the highlight; I think I read it in two days, which is unheard of for me.

  3. nk1slanmisseli1976 says:

    Reblogged this on Cee Garcia Journal.

Leave a Reply

