The Grand Palais Garnier

One of my favorite buildings in Paris.

DSCN1923

DSCN1924

DSCN1925

DSCN1928

DSCN1930

The bustling Place de l’Opéra.

DSCN1931

And the Galeries Lafayette glowing in the background.

DSCN1932

DSCN1935

An approximation of a conversation on the train leaving Place de l’Opéra:

J: Isn’t that where Phantom of the Opera happened?
Me: It’s inspired by it, yes. There’s really a lake underneath it.
J: Right, that’s where it’s set — I remember something about that. Or maybe I’m thinking of Les Miz. Either way. I fell asleep during both.

One of my favorite parts of the Opera house is the ceiling, painted by Marc Chagall in 1964. His use of color is a wonder. I didn’t go inside this visit so no photos, but there is a great image in the linked article.

This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Grand Palais Garnier

  1. Jill Johnson says:

    Bill dear,
    Just stunning! I have loved all the photos and updates. I love knowing you and J are there and I’m sending my love and since we’re coming upon Thanksgiving, I am so thankful for your friendship. Hug to J-
    xxx-Jill

  2. Margaret says:

    oh…..Weezer still has that picture in her house…..stunning

Leave a Reply

