Affinity

Not long ago I read Elizabeth McCracken’s beautiful memoir, An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination, in which she writes, “My memory is a goddamn liar.” Turns out so is mine. Perhaps you’ll recall my affinity for ducks? No? What about now?

In my memory I got that duck for Christmas, though recent photographic evidence suggests that it was a birthday present. (Something, at some point, was wrapped in a big crinkly black plastic garbage bag, but who knows what it was, maybe a throw pillow.) My birthday is in the summer, June, and I must have received it for my 11th (10 was a bike, that I know for sure). So here I am receiving The Duck. Who would have thought that I would get this much mileage out of it?

These photos are courtesy of my brother, who went home for Easter with a portable scanner in tow. I’m not sure why he began with the 1985-1988 family photo album, but I am glad that he did. Tune in tomorrow; there’s more where this came from.

This entry was posted in animals, Family, General Nonsense, Memory Lane and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Affinity

  1. Margaret says:

    wow…and then just a few years later you received the ENTIRE desk set- lovingly wrapped piece by piece! who knew you were so into duck paraphernalia!

  2. Wendy says:

    That is amazingly hysterical. The look of pure joy on your face. How funny.

  3. randasfans says:

    And Margaret, there aren’t very many people in the world who were there to witness that particular gift exchange. As far as who knew? Apparently NatGar did!

    • Margaret says:

      I wonder if big Steve-O has the same take on that lovely christmas cookie day! I love ya more than my luggage!

  4. Keri Cole says:

    And there’s the young gentleman, taking his duck for an evening stroll.

  5. girl chris says:

    It’s hard to put into words how happy these photos make me, so I’ll simply say that they’ve brightened an otherwise gray day and I think I have new desktop wallpaper. Mwah.

Leave a Reply

