Write it down

Several months ago I was encouraged to give Randa’s Fans a subtitle, an “about” on the front page.  On the back end it’s called my Tagline.  “In a few words, explain what this site is about,” it says.  What?  The first problem here is that I have never (ever) said anything in “a few words.”  I’m from the South.  But anyway, since I never did it before I started writing this blog, I began to wonder: what am I doing here?  What is it about?  And I realized that what I’m doing here is trying not to forget.  I’m trying to entertain, amuse, inform, inspire (why not), but I’m also trying not to forget everything that happens to me because, for whatever reason, my memory ain’t what it used to be.  And because wonderful and strange things happen.  So I started trying to figure out how to capture that idea in a few words.

I considered several possibilities, among them: write it all down (an abbreviated version of which I eventually decided worked better as a post title), an exercise in remembering, or one that I thought was pretty funny if a mite maudlin, in remembrance of me.

But what I came up with, as you can see, is “a project about not forgetting.”  I’m still not sure I love it, but as someone very close to me would say, it is what it is.

Apparently what I’ve been forgetting lately, though, is the blog itself.  I received a gentle nudge recently (thanks JJ) to get back to work on it, so here we are.  The holidays were a big part of why I wasn’t posting, but they are officially over.

I’m also lazy, so there’s that.  But the main reason I haven’t been posting here is because I’ve been writing elsewhere — nowhere public yet, but I am working on a collection of stories that I hope will eventually make a book.  We’ll see.

Several good friends (including the aforementioned pushy JJ!) have, in various ways over the years, encouraged me to write it down.  The it has ranged in meaning, depending on the drunken evening, from stories about family, friends, my dead brother, grief, God, church camp, homos (and homos at church camp), to stories about octopi, pet euthanasia, rugby, salad dressing, and Randy Travis. Each time the invocation: write it down.

And so now I am trying.  Some things have been enjoyable and hilarious to think and write about while others have been quite painful (big love to JPP for putting up with my moods).  A wonderful writer-friend of mine has agreed to be my reader (which translates into therapist, coach, editor, and general idea-bouncer-offer) and we’ve begun the project. I have a general outline, if not a general timeline (not to mention, deadline).  Right now that’s all I can ask for.

Although you never know, I probably won’t post updates about this project any more successfully than I’ve posted updates about Operation Gym, which began last summer. (Brief update about Operation Gym: I now regularly jalk* 3-4 miles on the treadmill, have done a preliminary investigation of weights — which I don’t really like — and in the spirit of a new year, I’ve started taking yoga classes at a local studio … oh, and I biked 22 miles back in November and owned that bitch.) *To “jalk” is to jog and to walk, at varying intervals.  This allows for greater distance and helps reduce the likelihood of premature death.*

Anyway, all of this is to say that I’ve got a few ideas in the works for Randa’s Fans, but I might be a bit quieter than usual for a while.  Of course, if you get bored, just give me a little nudge.  As you can see, It doesn’t take much to get me to spill it.

P.S.  Speaking of writing books, go read this one –my friend Rachel wrote it.  She’s hilarious, and so is her book.

Machacek, Rachel. 2011. The science of single: one woman’s grand experiment in modern dating, creating chemistry, and finding love. New York: Riverhead Books.

P.P.S. Happy New Year from me and Jose.

This entry was posted in General Nonsense and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Write it down

  1. Keri Cole says:

    Write, Randa, write! P.S. Looove the new header photo.

  2. girl chris says:

    Adding ‘The Science of Single’ to my to-read list. Also adding “jalk” to my vocabulary, because it made me choke on my glass of cheap cabernet.

  3. kimberly says:

    That’s the cutest picture of you and your kitty cat! Spent the weekend with Jane C. So excited about her wedding — hope to see you there!

  4. Pingback: On Nodding Terms | Randa's Fans

Leave a Reply

