I Write Like…

I’m sure you’ve all seen this; it was circulating on Facebook in mid-July, or you may have stumbled upon it elsewhere.  It’s the I Write Like website, where you can have your writing style analyzed and compared to a famous author.

All it asks for is a sample of your writing, which you can copy and paste into the blank box and then just click: Analyze.  It’s simplicity itself (which is to say: there’s just not much here, folks).  In addition to being simple, It’s also a little weird, in that my writing style seems to be all over the place.  While this may not be very surprising, I was looking for a bit more consistency in the results — otherwise, as I’ve indicated, they’re rather meaningless.  However, it was still fun.  Here are some examples.

I analyzed my post about joining a gym.  While the experience itself was horrifying, I’m not sure I would consider it outright horror.  Nonetheless:

I write like
Stephen King

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

My memories of the 4th of July from long ago?  It was definitely a wacky day, but nothing so ridiculously fabulous when compared to this.  And yet:

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Earlier this summer I attempted to memorialize an old friend who died after a yearlong battle with cancer.  Maybe the comparison here is because I said what I meant.  Which means that:

I write like
Mark Twain

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

I tested one more post just for fun, because I really enjoyed writing it and it sparked some good conversation.  The theme looks familiar, because yet again:

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

So if numbers matter, DFW wins the day.  Although my suspicion is that had I continued throwing blog matter into the analyzer, I would eventually have gone through all the authors in their catalog.  It’s just a hunch, because I eventually quit, but not before I tried the phrase I’m going on vacation in less than a week!!! And got:

I write like
J. D. Salinger

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

This entry was posted in Observations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Write Like…

  1. Sara says:

    Apparently, I write like Chuck Palahniuk. Somehow, that doesn’t seem terribly off to me.

Leave a Reply

