Broke my heart at the Funplex (yes you did, yes you did)

My first thought was: my god they are old!  My second thought was: J, your mom should totally go as Kate Pierson for Halloween!  (Second thought, part B, was that I should go as Kate Pierson for Halloween).  My third thought was: wait, Kate Pierson is your mom … after a bottle of wine. And then, no more thoughts. (Except: I bow down to you Kate Pierson.)

These people were smokin’ hot.  Though older (I guessed mid fifties, but Wikipedia quickly corrected me: Pierson turned 62 last week!) they proved that old can still be fabulous and ab.so.lute.ly rockin’.

I’m talking about the B-52s, of course.  I saw them last week at the Memphis in May Beale Street Music Festival and oh my god, they were worth every penny spent on the trip; all the dire predictions of rain; and the massive head cold that I’ve been nursing for a week (I think I could only technically hear them out of the one ear that wasn’t completely stopped up).  I’m not kidding, they were amazing.

Prior to seeing the Bs we had been down the road at another stage listening to Blues Traveler.  During their set some guy standing behind me said, “Wait. Didn’t these guys used to be good?”  Which made me think: no, it just used to be 1993.

Going in to see the B-52s it’s likely I could only have pulled Love Shack and Roam (though not even Roam by title) from the fuzzy edges of my memory. But two things happened during the concert: it turned out that not only did I know a lot more of their music than I thought I did, but I also LOVED their new stuff. While I may have been prepared to cut them some slack because they’re old, they wasted no time on my ignorant presumptions — they got busy right quick putting on a ridiculously good show.  Here’s a partial set list:

  • Private Idaho
  • Rock Lobster
  • Funplex
  • Pump
  • Mesopotamia
  • Quiche Lorraine
  • Roam
  • And, of course, Love Shack!

If you’re like me, then you totally missed their 2008 release of Funplex.  They played a bunch of songs from Funplex, and if you’ve ever been a fan of the Bs, then do not miss this album!

Anyway, of course I recorded Love Shack!  It came toward the end of their set and I tried my best to stand still, but I may have shimmied a little bit. Could you have stood still? I don’t think so. I was also hollering. It was so fun I couldn’t help myself. It’s in two clips — I took a break during the bridge because I thought my arm was about to fall off.

If by chance I am committing some sort of copyright violation by posting these clips, please have Ms. Pierson contact me directly and I’ll be more than happy to take them down.  [If you’re reading Kate, I love you.]

This entry was posted in Events, music, pop culture, Trips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broke my heart at the Funplex (yes you did, yes you did)

  1. Kim says:

    I love this post and the video, but I can’t help thinking about your week-long cold. Have you tried a little colloidal silver in a neti pot? I’m telling you what: CS is the new wonder substance. So far I have used it to shorten all colds of family members willing to have it shot up their noses, cure my son’s weird rib warts, and sanitize the faucets.

  2. randasfans says:

    I love you for your concern, though I wonder if my mother contacted you about the neti pot, which she bothered me about the entire time I was home?! I should try it. Thankfully, I will have to wait until my next cold, which hopefully won’t be for a good long while. Hey, did you get my comment a week or so back about WordPress? Are you still thinking about a move for Goose Bumps?

  3. Pingback: Duck, duck … duck! | Randa's Fans

  4. Pingback: On Nodding Terms | Randa's Fans

Leave a Reply

