New Theme: 2010

Filed under: Programming Notes.

Obviously I’ve been messing around with Randa’s Fans — the changes aren’t drastic (I think I inherited that from my mother, who agonizes over various shades of cream before deciding to paint her walls the exact same color they were before). But anyway. One of the reasons I like the new Twenty Ten theme is because I can customize the header. This was something I discovered using the previous theme, Cutline; it’s nice to change it up from time to time.

You may have noticed that we’ve progressed from a winter storm shot that I took during Snowpocalypse 2010 to something more tropical from Costa Rica — the sign was supposed to be advertising a restaurant’s special Valentine’s Day men-U but had been erased into something far funnier (props to JP who took the picture).

The latest header image is a photo that I took last year in a bar called Raval in Charleston, South Carolina, on King Street. Unfortunately, Raval is no longer there, which is sad because it had a really great atmosphere: lots of mirrors that created interesting hazy reflections, a rich wooden bar, and candles galore. It helps that just about everything in Charleston makes for a good picture, but I really liked the way this one turned out.

It was at Raval that I also first discovered sweet tea vodka, when I ordered this delicious martini:

While I don’t remember the exact ingredients, I think it was STV and Grand Marnier with a lemon wedge and sugar rim.  While a quick search for STV cocktail recipes turns up a bunch that call for lemonade, if you’re interested in branching out a bit here are a few other ideas. (And as a side note, when I mentioned STV to my bartender at Breadsoda not long ago, he told me that it’s all the rage with Georgetown co-eds these days; apparently they drink it on the rocks and get real silly*)

*I mean whorey.

This entry was posted in headers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Theme: 2010

  1. JoeB says:

    Sweet Tea and Vodka was the drink of choice at the Deli during the summer for many years. Shake it up and enjoy.
    Then, after moving to Pittsburgh, a girl a friend was dating came back from college at Clemson with a bottle of Firefly sweet tea vodka. People here were stunned. I was excited to have a taste of home.
    By the way, I recently told a story of you and I ordering drinks at Bosco’s one night. I was handed my regular pint of porter (lord knows they don’t even have to ask me any more) and you ordered a cosmo. I gave you and odd look and you responded “What, too gay?” I laughed and you said “Make it a double.”

  2. randasfans says:

    I’d say it again, too, if I found myself on a bar stool next to you — which doesn’t happen nearly as often as it should. Thanks for reminding me of this!

  3. Pingback: The Restorative Cocktail | Randa's Fans

Leave a Reply

