tree i.d.

Hello springtime!  I didn’t live in my current apartment this time last year, so I was not around to see the beautiful purpley-pink buds blooming on the trees in front of my house. They’ve been in bloom since last week, and I think they’re gorgeous:

Is there a good way to identify trees?   You know, without lugging around a reference book or field guide?

As with so many things these days, basically all one has to do is wonder about something and, sure enough, there’s an app for that!  The one I found in the app store is actually called Tree ID — but with a price tag of $3.99 and only mediocre reviews, I’m going to pass on it for now (to be clear: I’m happy to pay for a good app).  Ideally, what I would love to see (are you listening out there?!) is an app. where you’d be able to take a photo of a tree using your phone’s camera and tree i.d. app and, presto, you could identify any tree upon which you’re fortunate enough to stumble.  That would be a cool app, and a beautiful day for ignorant tree lovers like me.

This entry was posted in Observations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to tree i.d.

  1. I don’t know any good field guides, but I did marry a park ranger, and I know a redbud when I see one. Maybe you should take up with some local park rangers. Lotta good it did me: two kids and a mortgage.

  2. randasfans says:

    It’s all relative, because he’s *cute*! (as are the kids, btw!) If your Ranger runs across any good mobile guides, gimme a holler.

Leave a Reply

