When you’re stuck at home …

And there’s a raging blizzard outside, white-out conditions, sustained winds of 35-60mph, and several feet of snow on the ground, these websites might get you through.  I make no promises; I have mixed feelings about them all; and yet … I have visited each one of them at least once during the 5 days (and counting) that we’ve been snowbound.

So, in no particular order, I present you:

1) The People of Wal-Mart.  I don’t really know what to say about this one.  It’s shameless exploitation of people who shop at one of America’s most popular stores.  I know why it’s a popular store.  I understand why people shop there.  I have shopped there myself in the past.  Doesn’t mean I think they are a good company, and I make a point not to shop there if and when I don’t have to (read: never unless I am traveling in areas where Wal-Mart has decimated the local economy and shut down all other small and medium-sized businesses; so there we are).  Wal-Mart only scores a 40 on HRC’s 2010 Corporate Equality Index. Also, visit the National Trust for Historic Preservation and type Wal-Mart into the search box; interesting reading that could keep you occupied for hours. Nonetheless, there are gems to be found on this website, and the image titles are often priceless.

2) Everything is Terrible.  Just visit.  All I can really say is that my life would be a little less full had EIT not introduced me to cat massage.  Turns out the crazy cat lady’s name is Maryjean and she is evidently just a delight, with her very own site which you must check out!  For the uninitiated, watch this and know that your life will never be the same again.

3) Why the F*** Do You Have a Kid?  It’s a valid question; more words here would add nothing.

4) Passive Aggressive Notes.  Maybe I should start writing down how I really feel more often.

This entry was posted in animals, media, Observations, pop culture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When you’re stuck at home …

  1. I have one of those baby backpacks.

  2. Maryjean says:

    Glad you like Cat Massage.
    I never expected this clip to viral!

    Cat Massage is great fun for you
    and your felines, especially frightened felines.
    Contact me to request
    ‘Ways to Soothe a Scaredy Cat. ‘

    Maryjean

    Maryjean Ballner

Leave a Reply

