Writing on the Walls

My friend Sarah used to talk about doing a coffee table book of bathroom-wall graffiti from bars around Memphis.  It never happened, despite the fact that we collected a lot of data.  Usually I was with her in bars, but during odd separations I’d jot things down I found noteworthy, like the diatribe against irresponsible media representations of beauty that lead to damaging insecurities and eating disorders among women — next to which was scribbled, “Take it easy Tubby.”  This was from the bathroom wall at the Young Avenue Deli.  The Old Zinnie’s men’s room was a pretty fertile canvas for wall writers, too.

Anyway, check out this project highlighted by chicagoist.  I hope that Quinn Dombrowki follows through with the book.

Maybe Sarah and I would have been more successful if we’d had digital cameras?  Or possibly if we’d spent more time out of the bars … ?

This entry was posted in Books, General Nonsense, Things that make me happy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing on the Walls

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Small world! Quinn D. was a student in the LEEP program when I was working at Illinois, and we were reintroduced when I was in Chicago for the Project Bamboo stuff last year. She’s a good librarian type. 🙂

  2. randasfans says:

    I love it! Small world, indeed. She’s doing amazing work, if I do say so myself 🙂

  3. chris says:

    “Take it easy Tubby” makes me cry tears of laughter. Thank you for posting this, and belated thanks to the anonymous soul who thought to immortalize it on the bathroom wall in the first place. I love it.

Leave a Reply

