Jealousy With a Halo

Hat tip to I Have Happy for highlighting this article entitled “The Referendum” by Tim Kreider in the NYT’s Opinion section.

I tried to hit on some of these themes last week; probably with less wit, certainly with a smaller audience, and definitely without being paid.  But hey, I have passion.

Two highlights (indulge me):

“I have never even idly thought for a single passing second that it might make my life nicer to have a small, rude, incontinent person follow me around screaming and making me buy them stuff for the rest of my life. [Note to friends with children: I am referring to other people’s children, not to yours.] But there are also moments when some part of me wonders whether I am not only missing the biological boat but something I cannot even begin to imagine — an entire dimension of human experience undetectable to my senses, like a flatlander scoffing at the theoretical concept of sky.”

“Yes: the Referendum gets unattractively self-righteous and judgmental. Quite a lot of what passes itself off as a dialogue about our society consists of people trying to justify their own choices as the only right or natural ones by denouncing others’ as selfish or pathological or wrong. So it’s easy to overlook that hidden beneath all this smug certainty is a poignant insecurity, and the naked 3 A.M. terror of regret.”

Here’s the article.

This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

