Dyeing and Rising: Easter ’09

Okay, here it goes: a post unlike any I thought I would ever write.  Subject?  Dyeing Easter eggs.  Take it to the next level?  Why not!  Check out the Martha Stewart recipe I used to do it!  Here’s my version of same recipe: 

Ingredients: old silk neckties; other silk scraps and remnants (invite someone who sews); apathetic 13-year old willing to donate dirty t-shirt at last minute; eggs; vinegar; big pot; twist ties; water; heat.  

Deconstruct the ties and cut pieces of silk to fit around the eggs; cut dirty t-shirt into strips (Martha suggests an old white sheet, table cloth, or pillow case, and I’ve also heard of using cheese cloth).

Next wrap the eggs with the printed side of the silk facing the egg.  Take the t-shirt squares  and wrap one around each egg to keep the silk in place.  Cap it off with a twist tie:

Also, seek assistance:

Next, plop the eggs into a pot (here Martha recommends glass or enamel, but give me a break; just find a pot that’s big enough and get on with it) and cover them with water.  

Bring to a boil, then turn down the heat and simmer for 20 minutes:

Remove from pot and let cool:

The results, I must say, are pretty cool:

Finally, for another easy alternative to Rit, try onion skins.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dyeing and Rising: Easter ’09

  1. Dean says:

    very cool. i’m almost tempted to give up my onion skins and do this instead. perhaps next year though… also, the link to the page on dyeing eggs with natural pigments has a section on beets, which i’ve tried. it doesn’t work. better to stick to onion skins 🙂

  2. Keri says:

    That’s fabulous. But do let me know before you and Jer come home with a baby. I’ll need some time to purchase seasonally appropriate decorations for your shower.

  3. Pingback: 2009 redux « Randa’s Fans

  4. Dan says:

    I bet this would work with some of my old ties. I’ve also toyed around with sewing them into a quilt – not having them be the bulk of the quilt, but as decoration. Of course, that would require me to learn how to sew.

Leave a Reply

